The Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF) announced today the highly anticipated lineup for the 38th edition, which will run February 8 to 18, 2023. The festival will showcase 52 world premieres and 78 U.S. premieres from 43 countries, along with tributes featuring the year’s top talent, panel discussions, and free community education and outreach programs. The full program can be found at

SBIFF’s Executive Director Roger Durling stated, “At a time where there’s a dwindling of movie theater attendance, the role of film festivals has never been more important. At SBIFF, with the 38th edition, our marching orders are clear, to celebrate movies and to nurture and exalt the film community, the artists as well as the cinephiles. It’s a great slate with 43 countries represented.”

SBIFF 2023 will kick off on February 8 with the World Premiere of Miranda’s Victim, directed by Michelle Danner and starring Abigail Breslin, Ryan Phillippe, Luke Wilson, Donald Sutherland, Mireille Enos and Andy Garcia.

The fest will close on February 18 with the US Premiere of I Like Movies, directed by Chandler Levack and starring Isaiah Lehtinen, Romina D’Ugo, Krista Bridges, Percy Hynes White.

SBIFF is an important showcase for Academy Award frontrunners, many of whom have arrived as nominees and gone on to win the Oscar. This year the festival will celebrates some of the year’s finest work in film at the historic Arlington Theatre. Highlights include:

  • Montecito Award honoring Angela Bassett on February 9 at 8:00 pm, moderated by Roger Durling.
  • Outstanding Performer of the Year Award presented by Manitou Fund honoring Cate Blanchett on February 10 at 8:00 pm, moderated by Scott Feinberg.
  • Maltin Modern Master Award honoring Jamie Lee Curtis on February 11 at 8:00 pm, moderated by Leonard Maltin.
  • American Riviera Award sponsored by Deadline honoring Brendan Fraser on February 14 at 8:00 pm, moderated by Pete Hammond.
  • Virtuosos Award honoring Austin Butler (Elvis), Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin), Danielle Deadwyler (Till), Nina Hoss (Tár), Stephanie Hsu (Everything Everywhere All At Once), Jeremy Pope (The Inspection), Ke Huy Quan (Everything Everywhere All At Once), and Jeremy Strong (Armageddon Time) on February 16 at 8:00 pm, moderated by Dave Karger.
  • Cinema Vanguard Award honoring Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson on February 16 at 8:00 pm, moderated by Dave Karger.

The festival will also feature a robust slate of panels, educational programs and free programs.

SBIFF Poster Designed by Acclaimed Artist Patricia Chidlaw