The Sundance Institute has announced the members of the six juries awarding prizes for artistic and cinematic achievement at the 2022 Sundance Film Festival, now being held virtually due to the ongoing pandemic from January 20 – 30, 2022, via an enhanced online platform at 

Sundance 2022 Jury Members

Sixteen celebrated voices across film, art and culture will bestow this year’s awards on feature-length and short films that will be announced on January 28. Festival audiences have a role in deciding the 2022 Audience Awards, open to films in the U.S. Competition, World Competition and NEXT categories, as well as the Festival Favorite, which is selected across the full feature film program.  

This year’s jurors are Chelsea Barnard, Marielle Heller, and Payman Maadi for U.S. Dramatic Competition; Garrett Bradley, Joan Churchill, and Peter Nicks for U.S. Documentary Competition; Andrew Haigh, Mohamed Hefzy, and La Frances Hui for World Cinema Dramatic Competition; and Emilie Bujès, Patrick Gaspard, and Dawn Porter for World Cinema Documentary Competition. Joey Soloway for the NEXT competition section. Penelope Bartlett, Kevin Jerome Everson, and Blackhorse Lowe jury the Short Film Program Competition.

The jury for Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize is comprised of Dr. Heather Berlin, Dr. Mandë Holford, PhD, Tenoch Huerta, Lydia Dean Pilcher, and Shawn Snyder. They deliberated in advance of the Festival and awarded the Prize to After Yang, directed by Kogonada. 

Follow the Sundance Institute on FacebookInstagramTwitter and YouTube.